|Challenged|

“You challenge me to do lots of things!  Who do you think got me into all these different studies and devotionals that I’m doing?!”

One my BFFL’s and I were sitting cross-legged on the floor in her bedroom one Sunday afternoon after church(which is pretty much a weekly custom for us) braiding and knotting bracelets in a variety of colors.  We had been talking about some of the things we believe the Lord is leading us to do in the present and future, and somehow we rambled until we got onto the topic of how people can challenge us in our spiritual and everyday lives.

“You challenge me to do lots of things!”  She said.

Wait-ME??? , I thought.  This girl could do everything-she was athletic, competitive, a walking dictionary, smarter than I could comprehend, a pianist and clarinetist, excelled in seemingly all that she did, had the physical appearance of a model, and was a diligent, sweet, obedient, and extremely optimistic girl with such a love for the Lord.  This was the friend who always challenged me!

“Seriously?!  Like what?”,  I was curious to know.

She tilted her head and smiled,  “Who do you think got me into all these studies and devotionals that I’m doing?!”

“Wow…”  I responded.  I was totally shocked.

Everyone has probably heard at one time or another that you have young eyes looking up to you: younger sibs, the seven-year-old girl at church that run to your arms every service, and the nine-year-old boy who loves to high five you.  But those words, spoken by one of my closest friends who is nearly a year older than I, made me realize something mind-blowing; we leave an impression on everyone that we come in contact with.  I love how my Youth Pastor says it, “You’re an elevator.  You’re either bringing someone up or bringing someone down.”

That isn’t just referring to our words.  It’s how we live.  As a Christian, I have a responsibility to lead a life that reflects Christ’s love and my love for Him.  Young or old, people are watching me and you.  Why?  Because people are searching.  Those who don’t know Jesus are looking for love…peace…contentment…something to live for.  When they see those things in us, they can’t help but wonder what the source is.  But it doesn’t stop there.  Even Christians, me included, are looking for people out there to lift them up and encourage them in their walk with the Lord.  You may think that your light is insignificant, but it does emit a glow, and people can see it.  You can and do challenge others.  Who knows, that light that you carry just may be casting a light on another’s path that would be nearly impossible to walk without it.

Are you challenging others?  How do others challenge you?

goals-accomplishments-and-sig-2

4 thoughts on “|Challenged|

  1. Mmm…. I love this. I’ve been thinking a lot lately on how we are influenced by people and how we influence others. Recently I started saying things because I was influenced by someone and my mom had a talk with me and I had to be extremely aware not to say it. It wasn’t a bad word or anything, just something that doesn’t need to be said, if you know what I mean 😉
    So I’ve been praying lately that instead of being influenced by others, that I would be able to influence people with the light of Christ 🙂
    Oh, and I love that elevator analogy! So cool and true…. 🙂
    ~Jaclynn~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

