The Escape Route

On our way to our relatives’ houses for Thanksgiving, my family and I passed an ambulance.  We were able to catch just a glimpse of who was inside.  My dad said it was a little girl; my siblings insisted that it was a little boy.  Whatever the gender, we all knew that it was a child.  Passing by that emergency vehicle, the thought hit me harder than it ever had before…life is fragile.  Without God’s incomprehensible knowledge, we would be mere robots.  But He gave us a conscience…thoughts…a soul.  As I lifted up a silent prayer for that child, I realized that not only are our physical bodies so dependent on God, but even more so dependent on Him are our mental states.  I personally know that I wouldn’t be where I am; wouldn’t live the life that I’m living; without having been born into a Christian family and accepting Christ as my personal Savior years ago.  I don’t even want to think about how terrible of a state I’d be in.  Because the struggle is real.  Literally.  It’s not easy to navigate the teen years.  There is peer pressure, corrupt media, horrid influences, confused feelings, and a seemingly endless mission to find purpose.  Even for Christian teens like me who have been as sheltered as possible from all the negativities of our world.  We have problems, fears, and temptations just like that kid down the block…but we have Jesus.  Without Him, I would be nothing.  Without Him, I am nothing.  He is the reason why I wake up every day with hopes, dreams, and the persistent whisper that I am known and so very dearly loved.

I’m honestly not surprised to see the world the way it is.  People are searching; searching for something to satisfy their starving souls.  Time and time again, they come up empty , and they don’t understand why.  Then they go right on to the next thing just to be let down and crushed once more.

Jesus is our escape route.

Jesus is our escape route.  Now, more than ever, we need to be spreading the news that there is a Way, and there is Life.  A Life of freedom from the chains of destruction, doubt, and death.  So live with this knowledge and shine.  Part the darkness, spread the news; there is hope for the lost.

4 thoughts on “The Escape Route

Leave a Reply

