My WordCrafters Chapter

Hello All!

It’s my turn for WordCrafters!:D Before the post I just wanted to let you all know that I’ll be gone at camp for a week, starting tomorrow.  When I get back, I’ll be leaving for a nearly month long road trip.  I should be able to post a little during that time, but I’ll give you guys an update in about a week. 🙂

Here’s my chapter!

 

“What’s wrong?”  Pippin asked with worry framing his brows.

I fingered nervously with the sleeve of my dress and replied slowly with a sigh.  “I think we’re walking into a trap.”

Vivi glanced around cautiously as if searching for danger.  “What makes you say that, Esme?”

I stammered “I-I just t-talked to an elf, and she s-said that fairies are tactical and that you should be cautious around them, an-and she also sa-”

Pippin lifted up his hands.  “Woah, woah, woah, Esme.  An Elf??!  How about you calm down and start over, ok?”

“I’ve got an idea!”  Devin snapped his fingers.

I noticed that Vivi’s eye twitched and her face tightened as she crossed her arms.

“It’s getting dark.  How about we find a place to pitch camp for the night, and then Esme can tell us everything?”  He suggested.

“Sounds like a plan.”  Pippin readily agreed.

Vivi just nodded her head as she groaned “Yeah, sure.”

Devon took the lead followed by Pippin and I, while Vivi shuffled  reluctantly behind.  We walked along, stumbling occasionally over rocks and menacing tree roots as the Sun began to sink below the horizon, casting eery shadows across the forest.  The boys had started a conversation, but I was oblivious to what they were saying.  I was lost in thought; the dragon trudging clumsily beside me.  Should I trust Katri or believe the Elf?  Katri seemed nice enough, but things are getting a little too suspicious.  And how on earth did Devin get here?  I wish that little Elf would come back.  What if my friends don’t believe me?  And-

My thoughts were interrupted by the feel of a scaly touch on my hand.  I looked down in surprise to see that the dragon had stood uprightly and had placed it’s small little hand in my fair one.  It seemed to smile up at me, it’s beady little eyes looked pathetic as I returned it’s gaze.

“Don’t worry little guy,”  I whispered.  “You’re going to be just fine.  I promise.”

“How’s this spot?”  Devin cheerfully asked, his arms spread in a “Ta-da!” kind of way.

I looked around the tiny clearing that we had just entered; towering oaks seemed to cover it like a forbidding fortress, and the shadows seemed especially large in the twilight.  The light of the moon sifted it’s small beams of silver on the darkest spots and a lonesome creature howled in the distance making chills shake my body, despite the fact that the humidity seemed to only increase with the coming of night.  This certainly didn’t seem like the most “homey” spot.

“Uh…well…”  I shifted my eyes to Vivi, wondering what she would say.

“Whatever.  It doesn’t matter to me.  I’ll go get some fire wood, if we’re all agreed, that is.”  Vivi sighed in a defeated manner.

“Yep!  I’ll help you, Vivi!”  Pippin began to follow her.

“No thanks, Pippin.”  She walked off alone amidst the shadows.

Pippin stood there looking after her with a confused look on his face.  He turned to me and said “I can’t get her.  What’s up?  I’ve never seen her act this way before.”

“It’s complicated.”  I replied.

Pippin shrugged and began to help Devin make a fire pit with some large rocks that were lying nearby.

I had plopped down on a log and began to pick apart blades of grass absentmindedly for several minutes until Devin said “Ya know, that Vivi sure has been gone awhile.”

“Yeah.  Maybe I should see if she’s ok.”  Pippin replied as his eyebrows came together in a worried form.

I jumped up quickly.  “It’s ok, Pippin.  I’ll go check on her.”

He scratched the back of his head with a hesitant expression.  “I don’t know, Esme.  I don’t like the idea of both of you girls being alone out there.”

“I’ll be fine, really.”  I reassured him and took off before he could respond.

I do hope she’s ok.

I had been walking down the path in the direction Vivi had gone for a few minutes, when I heard a rustling of leaves directly in front of me.  I froze istantly and felt my heart nearly coming out of my chest.  The rustling increased, and then suddenly stopped.

“Hey Girl!”

“Who-who’s th-there?”  I stammered in fear.

“Down here!  Look at your feet, Human!”  The small, and seemingly familiar voice, replied.

I looked at my feet and saw a little figure lit up by moonlight.  The Elf!

“Oh how relieved I am to see you!”  I knelt down with a sigh of relief.

“Yes, well, we have to leave now!”  She grabbed my finger and proceeded in trying to pull me.

“What’s wrong?”

“Your friend is in trouble!”

 


DUN DUN DUN!!!!!:D

-Lainey

 

4 thoughts on “My WordCrafters Chapter

Leave a Reply

