Reign of Deceit ~ Part 4

Hello Everyone!

Long while no see!  For that, I’m truly sorry.  I haven’t been able to get on the internet at all for almost the entire week, but, I’m back!:D And, as you can tell by the title, so is Reign of Deceit!!  I hope you guys enjoy this next part, and in case you’ve forgotten or missed some other parts, click them!:D

Part 1 – Part 2 – Part 3

 

 

“Wow…”  I breathed.

I heard Collette gasp in awe.  Dixon simply stood there with his mouth agape.

“It is a beautiful diamond, though very powerful, mind you.”  The horse said.  The three of us jumped in fright, and Collette’s face was turning as white as sheeps’ wool.

“You-you-you’re ta-talking?!??!?” I stammered.

It’s hard to describe a horse’s laugh, but she did, making us frightened all the more.

“Yes. I am talking. But don’t let looks fool you, dear.” She replied.

“Wh-what do you mean?” I questioned, still in utter shock at the prospect of talking to an animal.

She sighed. “It’s a long story…tell me, did any of the villagers recognize the Masked One?”

I contemplated for a moment.  “The man who disappeared on the white stallion?  No, I don’t believe so.  It was odd.  But, then again, this whole day has seemed like a mysterious dream.”  I smiled uneasily as I fidgeted with one of my golden locks.

“Then we were correct.” She replied confidently.

“We?  And about what?”

“Yes. We.”  She tossed her head to the side, as if to refer to the herd of horses behind her.  “And,”  She added  “I will explain that later.”

“Do they talk, too?”  Dixon asked, the first words had spoken to the horse.  Collette still stood there, her eyes hollow in shock-looking rather ill.

“Of course, Lad.” She smiled sympathatically at the two sheepish siblings.  She turned her head. “Everyone say hello to-um…what are your names, dears?”

“I’m Giselle,” Motioning to my friends I added “And this is Collette and Dixon.”.

Dixon nodded politely, while Collette gave a weak smile.

“And I’m Sabine.” She turned to face the other horses. “Everyone, meet our friends, Giselle, Dixon, and Collette.”

Several horses called out in greeting, some with deep manly voices, others with the soft voice of a young woman, and even those who sounded much like little children.

After we become acquainted with several of them, all eyes were once again drawn to Sabine as she asked mysteriously  “Children.  How would you three like to go on a little trip?”.

“Uh, sure!”  I said nodded readily.  I looked to the others.

“I’m in.”  Dixon agreed.  “Collette?”

“Might as well,”  she said shakily  “this day couldn’t get any more exciting.”.

Sabine chuckled.  “Young One, this is only the beginning…”

old-books-436498_960_720

 

14 thoughts on “Reign of Deceit ~ Part 4

Leave a Reply

