CWWC Entry #5: This World Isn’t Safe, And Neither Is The Other

Hello Everyone!:D

Yes, I know.  Sadly I’ve missed two CWWC challenges and one AWWC, but that was because on one I forgot the deadline(again…), and the other time was because I couldn’t get on the internet(we don’t have unlimited internet, and we went over on data, so yeah…).  Anyways, enough with my excuses(:D), let’s get on with my entry!  Loren, I used 7 prompts. 😉

 

826318ca4ebaaa689df1a349aeed1a28

“The world’s not safe anymore.  It’s better for you to stay indoors.  For your own good.”  My Mother had told my sisters and I for what seemed like an eternity.  Ever since an event in my very early childhood, that seemingly erased from my memory, my world consisted of very little.  My father was always away looking for what work he could find, and food was increasingly scarce.  I remember times in the middle of the night when my youngest sister, Lindsey, would wake up screaming because of hunger pains.  Every day seemed like a nightmare to the three little girls that spent most of day sitting on the stairs; waiting for their father to come home with their next meal, which usually was, moldy bread.  We didn’t complain, though.  It tasted like Heaven to us.

f35f1061c4292cbecb732504fc013b03

It wasn’t until I was ten years old that I began to become more and more curious about the outside world.  Now I’m thirteen, and nothing has changed.  My curiosity has only increased.  One night, I finally hatched a plan to fulfill my dream.

The bedroom that Lindsey, Lacey, and I shared was deafly silent.  The window was shut, so not a whiff of fresh air had been admitted.  I lay in bed; the fraying, white sheet pulled up to my chin, which was the bed’s only covering.  My eyes, adjusted to no light, stared at the window, which revealed but more darkness.  No stars were visible, and the reason my parents would say, is that our apartment faced an alley, whatever an alley was.

“Tonight is the night.  Chance it.”  A voice in my head would echo with a voice like cymbals.

“Are you crazy?”  Another voice argued.  “You haven’t been outside the apartment in ten years!  You would be foolish to go out there.”

I tossed and turned fitfully; sweat on my brow.  This may be stupid, but I was dying to try!  Who knows when my parents would turn me loose out of this stuffy prison…”Maybe never.”  I sighed inwardly.

“It’s either now or never.”  I told myself determinedly.

I sat up quietly in bed and tip toed across the ruff, wooden floor boards to the window.  I quietly opened the window and hesitantly threw myself through it out onto the fire escape.  I looked warily out into the night, and once again the voice cried for me to return to my, not warm, but safe, bed.  I shook my head to rid my mind of all the doubts and fears.  I wanted to box up all the bad memories of this place and forget them for the moment.

1df48cfaa2e442fc0a14d53146951d74

I would come back, but before I came back, I had to leave.

I walked over to the end of the fire escape, and carefully, climbed the ladder that descended into the dark, and I soon noticed, putrid mist of the alley.

“I’m out of the apartment.”  I breathed with relief.  “Now it’s time for some adventures.”

I walked quickly through the intimidating alley; being mindful not to run into a dumpster, though nearly tripping over a rotting banana peel.

Suddenly I saw light ahead.  “The city!” my mind cried excitedly.  I ran; the light becoming brighter and brighter, until suddenly, I noticed something odd about it.  I also noticed that I was no longer in an alley.  I was surrounded by leafy branches and bushes; a pond shimmered with moonlight, and stars hung over head.  This was certainly not the city.  The lights flashed on and off…everywhere.  To my awe, one of the flashing lights landed on my hand, and I realized that this light was alive.

c5078885d4f94d52693e733e2177e846

My eyes were glued in amazement to these fluttering creatures, and I nearly fainted in shock when I heard the one standing one my hand, whisper “No one ever comes back if they stray past the border; what lies beyond is unknown.”..

b9328e29651562ecf3d57392e45e0203

“Wh-what b-border?”  I stammered.

It flew towards the pond, then looked back at me as a mirror appeared in the ripples.

“A m-mirror?  Am I envisioning things?”  I questioned.

“What you see is there.  But take heed to this warning: mirror are passages to fantastic worlds, guarded by creatures called The Ferrymen.”  It whispered in reply with a crystal, mystical-like voice.

5d8cd3e97bd388dd8e6bbcdb5c124ffc (2)

“Who are The Ferrymen?”  I asked warily.

“You will see if you dare pass the border.  Adventure awaits, but danger lurks in hidden places.  Use knowledge, listen to the voice in your head, and always beware of what could happen.  If you do these things, you will live.  But there is no guarantee of return.”  It replied.

After a moment of contemplation, I declared “I’ll do it.”.

“Then go.  I wish you success.”  And with that, all of the flashing creatures disappeared, but the mirror was still there.

I walked slowly towards it and was soon looking down at my reflection of fair colored and rather sunken cheeks, blue eyes, and wavy auburn hair.  I breathed shakily, and walked down into the water.  As soon as the water was up to my knees, the mirror put on arms and seemed to pull me down, and I was not strong enough to free myself from it’s grasps.  I spun in a whirlpool; farther and farther down I went, spinning around furiously, until suddenly I was thrown out of it.  I could hear the breaking of glass and feel the hard, sudden impact of ground beneath me.

55d381b8cd9ead9141722e16799b7df0 (2)

I lay there; trying to feel my lungs with air, feeling as if air had never been admitted into my body before.  I pushed myself slowly up from the ground, and looked straight into the steely eyes of two beasts, which I knew had to be, The Ferrymen.

old-books-436498_960_720

P.S. This piece had over 900 words!!*gasps*:D

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

